It’s safe to say that ridesharing services have changed the face of transportation in Michigan. When companies like Uber and Lyft came on the scene a decade ago, they were marketed as a convenient commuter option and a safe alternative to drunk driving. They are also valuable services to help people with disabilities or those who have limited access to public transportation.
Despite these benefits, ridesharing comes with risks, especially if you’re hurt in a car accident. Understanding how insurance rules apply in Michigan rideshare accidents is important if you’re seeking compensation for your injuries.
Why is Ridesharing Risky?
Rideshare drivers have no specialized training. They’re regular drivers, just like you. That doesn’t mean they’re bad drivers, but it does mean you’re putting your trust in a stranger’s driving abilities. They don’t have commercial licenses.
There’s also no guarantee that the car you get into has been properly maintained and regularly inspected, even though the law requires it. In addition, a rideshare driver’s entire business is conducted through a smartphone app, increasing the chances of distracted driving.
Most importantly, you don’t know for certain whether the driver carries appropriate no-fault insurance coverage if an accident occurs. Having the necessary insurance and knowing when (or if) you can access the rideshare company’s liability coverage after a crash is not clear-cut. If you’ve been hurt in a collision, a rideshare accident attorney can guide you about the best steps toward compensation.
How Can You Protect Yourself?
If you have access to no-fault insurance, you’ll be in a good position to obtain some compensation for your injuries through a first-party claim for Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits. PIP benefits can cover:
● Medical expenses
● A portion of your lost wages
● Household replacement services
You can be even safer by adding uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM), which will protect you if the rideshare driver fails to meet the state’s insurance requirements.
Under Michigan’s no-fault laws, you may also have the option of filing a third-party claim for pain and suffering if your injury meets the state’s serious injury threshold, which is classified as an injury that results in permanent and serious disfigurement, seriously impairs a bodily function, or results in death.
Can I Get Compensation from the Rideshare Company?
Rideshare companies must also carry liability insurance coverage to protect people injured in accidents involving their drivers. However, your ability to access compensation in these cases will depend on the driver’s status at the time of the accident.
Drivers waiting for a fare have less liability coverage than those who are actively transporting a passenger at the time of a crash. The liability limits can vary from $50,000 per person up to $1 million in total coverage.
Talk to a Michigan Rideshare Accident Lawyer Now
The attorneys at Christensen Law have represented Michigan auto accident victims since well before rideshare services even existed. If you’ve been injured in an Uber or Lyft accident, call or contact us today to speak to an experienced rideshare accident lawyer.